Me is in bangalore, for FOSS.in 2005....
Watch this space for frequent updates directly from the venue (If it has a net
access).
No description its weird i know but i warned you.
Me is in bangalore, for FOSS.in 2005....
Watch this space for frequent updates directly from the venue (If it has a net
access).
OK i am back to KDE.... more because i need to get acquainted with qt. With my
prime development platform being QT based, i need to get to know the inner as
well as working feel of QT hands on.
But now, my mind is again split between the two desktops. Make no mistake, i
still in my heart an enlightenment fan. Unfortunately Gnome and KDE are the
two things we must live with. Without having more time to spend on config,
fixing and bug reporting i don't see a point in trying to use enlightenment
right now........
Comming back to the debate, KDE still is irritating while Gnome very
peacefull. Kde is however easier to make it your own taste... well
somewhat ...
The eyecandy is better in KDE, eye relief is better in gnome. Both things get
the jobs done quite well.... Most of the stuff works out of the box now and
both the desktops have a strong foundation.
I am totally split and it makes me be unfaithful to both the desktops :).
Lets see may be after FOSS.in 2005 i will have a strong reason for chosing one
over the other.
Q: What do you do? when on one particular tuesday, you have woken up late to
realise that a meeting was suppose to start 10 mins. ago, You feel miserable
to read a message from your girfriend saying she forgot to call you
alltogether. then finally in the three hour long meeting find out that the
desing you worked on for last two weeks is a piece of crap and the client
wants you to start from scratch, and even your cdrom drive has failed for
some misterious reason. When you think that world is about to end What? just
what do you do?
Ans: Yell YIEEPPEEEEEEEEEEEEE and go shopping !!!!! (you got to spend that
first paycheck of yours don't you?) FOR HARDWARE .......
Just when i though i can never get hang of tuesdays, i found a way to do just
that.This is an account of this particular tuesday when world (thankfully?)
did not come to an end.
[11:10am] you wake up by a ring of your cell phone. Its a message actually
asking where are you..... Crap i need to hurry up to the meeting.
[11:30] read your girfreind had forgotten you..... :( ah well this must be a
tuesday.
[12:30pm]19 mins into a meeting starts a realisation of a grave fact of life.
It aint fair, infact it aint even close to fair.
[2:30pm] give up. simply give up.... Belgium!!!
[3:30pm] start planning on a new design. Its a huge repeat of two weeks work
and you now have two days for it. am convinced (or rather hoping) that a
vogon constructors fleet is heading this way.
[4:30:01pm] Light bulb moment, you see your dad struggling with getting the
dsl to work on a long ethernet cable.
[4:30:02:01pm] You realise you are yet to touch the first ever payment you
received.
[4:30:02:02pm] You start envisioning a grand network infrastructure, the fears
of vogon fleet are lightywars away.
[4:45pm] Yaaaahooooo!!! you prove your geekerdom and spend the money on a
hoopy neat Wireless hardware.
[5:00pm] hook up the gear and realise that there is latency issue with dsl
connection. Scratch head.......
[5:30pm] forget about the design we still have two days for it. Start
designing a neater network.
[6:00pm] config a m/c as a gateway, and run a trial for the connectivity.
Everything works just smooth, pat yourself and thank linus+debian. Now you
need a dedicated gateway, go to office to fetch some gear......
[7:00pm] come to realise you don't have a cdrom.... to car again to get a
cdrom drive.
[7:30pm] start installing knoppix(what else?) on to a p4 machine, leave to
meet a a friend.
[11:30pm] your are half way drunk, get to the machine. Install is complete.
Put down few scripts to enable masuerade, firewall, auto dsl connection and
ssh setup.
[11:45pm] done you machine reboots with everything setup perfectly well
without manual intervention....... strip the machine off the
keyboard/mouse(yieks)/monitor.
[12:00am] with everything on your local ethernet, boot hte machine wifi and
the two laptops. What a frood you are...... everything is working perfect....
just perfect.
[1:00am] spend few more hours configuring a vpn and securing the wireless leg
of your network
Yahhooooo!!!! tuesday is long gone........
And i am a proud owner of neat network.
Dataone<<==>> DSL MODEM
^
||
\/
Ethernet HUB
^ ^
|| ||
\/ \/
Wifi AP Gateway
/ \ M/c (Masq. +
/ \ Ip forwad +
/ \ squid +
Latop 1 Laptop2 mail server)
I was just thinking.... (what the f***???)
How come after 15 (may be more) years of development and so called reasearch,
no os in the enitre world supports non rectangular windows?
Well to be honest all of them do.... i mean i have seen weird skins for xmms
and noatune...... but still, nobody inherantly uses the nonrectangular window
in the gui interface design.
I mean i am sure if people think about it carefully enough they can def. come
up with a really good uses for these. First of all its so obvious step
towards saving some desktop space. right now i can see the space between a
toolbar button and the right edge of the window being just wasted. the
address field also contains only one address right now ( its a email compose
window) and most of the right side is just wasted.
Intellegant use of arbitrarily shaped windows and gui design will solv the
problem i am most certain. Alas!! don't we have intellegace left in this
world anymore????
--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net/
http://abhijit.adotout.net/blog.php
Just go and ask "Why DRM and copyrights are bad?" on /. or similiar crowed and
you will be burried under countless reasons.
Today i am just going to add one more to the pool.....
"Future"
The reasoning goes something like this. Today everyone copyrights a material, which basically means you can not reproduce it. There is an unmentioned diversion to the above restriction, which is for now quite obvious, that is you can reproduce it in you brains. You can veiw the movie you, can listen to
the music and you can see the paitning without much problem. You are also not restricted from recalling it ofcourse. Although brain is a form of an electronic storage, preventing reproduction inside brain will be just stupid. The business model works quite well right now mainly due to volatile nature of our memories.
The problem I spot however begins sometime 40-50 years from now. Biophisists
are already very successfull in interfacing brain paths to the electronic
circuits. Many blinds are being given expreimental vision by hooking a CCD
on to their visual neuropaths.Very soon there will be a stadardisation in
nero-tronic interface making it possible to manufacture tons of different
brain-aids. Its not too long before the braincap implant envisioned in
the SPACE ODESSY 3001 is brought to reality, atleast a striped down version
of it inside few MIT labs or something.
So when we finally get a few terabytes of memory sitting to aid our brains in
a seamless fashion, when we can recall what we have seen, heard or
expereienced in the exact same way again and again and again without needing any external device but only a few implants. How the hell are people going to enforce copyrights? all one will have to do is just watch a video once and be done with it. And furthermore if a communication is also aided by some addons to our brains the distribution of such material will be unstoppable. Its going to spread through the oldest p2p protocol existent on earth namely personal contact. What are they going to do? ban freindships and social networks? In short, soon (well that about 100-200 years but still) copyright is going to be a thing of past. So MPAA, RIAA watch out, your time is about to end. And no lawsuit is going to stop that.
--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net
http://abhijit.adotout.net/blog.php
Well while i was trying to build the directfb stuff, i also kept working on
Xorg. Well finally i have it all....
DRI now works under Xorg, and i even have SATA driver up and running in the
kernel, after i installed hybrid of gentoo and debian and kernl.org
kernels :-)).
I will write a full report on linux on ACER travelmate 4151 once i get the
modem and wifi working again (the hybrid kernel is not (yet) configured for
those)
One disappointment though,.. although xine now can render fast it still can't
play dvds, ide driver is too slow and SATA driver doesn't (yet) support
ATAPI. Unfortunately this means i will have to wait till 2.6.13 or atleast
get the mm patchset once the libata-dev is finally put on for merging.
Actually 2.6.13-libata-dev is already posted on to lkml, i will try it
sometime but now now. I am still feeling very happy about almost all parts
working on my laptop..
--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net
http://abhijit.adotout.net/blog.php
This is frustrating....
What i have here is this,
SATA is fully documented open protocol, linux kernel has the driver
and yet a custom compiled driver is failing to detect my drive, HOW
RUDE!!!!!!!
Neways more on that later, if i care enough, for now i am stuck with dmaless PIO mode in ide emulation.
Now on to real frustrating part....
Both XFree and XOrg have i915 drivers, kernel is latest and has dri driver....
None of them work... i have in my hands three codes which basically do
the same thing on the same chipset as in my unit and yet none of these
are working,
i am going crazy and franatic over this, so much for being a linux person.
Neways i give up , i am now going to do it the old way the real way.
Let once again men be men, who write their own device drivers.
I am going to take the daunting task of writing a Directfb i915
driver, time to go underground for next few weeks......
See you then if i survive
--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net
I just got myself a shiny new acer laptop.....
Now trying to get everything working under linux....
The major annoyance is that none of the dstributions right now suport
both SATA drive _and_ i915 graphics card on board....
Ubuntu fails with SATA cdrom and does not detect it in install, so
does mandrake
Knoppix installs well but fails to detect i915 and XF86Config-4 does
not help even with the kernel driver loaded .... :-(( so i am stuck
with Vesa mode
Will try gentoo now that being the last option, i really don't want
Redhat based Fedora, cause as everyone knows, Redhat is crap. Sigh !!!
Note: Wifi, ethernet, sound and acpi are working on knoppix
I just read a quote somewhere,
"Great managers do things right, Great leaders do the right things."
I see a very robust and unparalleled implementation of the above
statement. But before we do a case study lets analyse it. If you want
to do a thing you have to do it right in order to succeed. If you want
to succeed you not only have to do the things right but you also have
to do the right things. But doing right things does implicitly means
not doing the other variety. And unfortunately a Great manager in most
of the examples has very little choice about this. Ten years ago there
would have been no examples for the situation where Great managers
were also great leaders.
But as always now we have Linux..... (am i getting toooo damn
religious about it? i mean i find all the good things as linux
parallels!! but what the hell, its only because they are, you know? )
Take a look at linus or his bunch of lieutenants. These people will
strive to do the right things. And will boldly reject all others. This
way they also happen to do the things right automagically? so does
this mean doing the right things implicitly makes you do things right?
well!! no. but only because not caring about doing things right....
the bsd way for example , these people manage to do the right things
in right ways.
Whoosshhhh!!! i am too messed up in my mind so if you didn't
understand the above please ignore. I don't think i do either.
--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net
Thats what i said when i heard about apple's new anouncment.....
What a shocker.... Apple switching on to intel platform. This must be
on hell of a spin for all the 'Mac'ers. I don't think even pakistan
turning away from taliban measures up in front of this :-))). My
sypmathies lie for all the poor soles who now have to try and invent
new reasons for why CISC is better than RISC within two years and how
we were just fooling around for last 15 years.
Neway does this impact me right now???? well for starters i might be
downloading Mac OS Xii in couple of years instead of Ubuntu as i am
doing right now, or will i? it _will_ hackishly run on my hardware,
but will the ffort be worth it? is apple gui so unbeatable that i the
die hard linux franatic will still use it? i don't know but the point
is atleast two years from now i will have a chance to know, and thats
a GoodThing(tm).
I remember a thread on scribus mailing list about usage of GPLed fonts. While
bathing today it struck me suddenly, that its a non issue. Basic problem
somebody raised was that, if a document is prepared using GPLed fonts they
are linked into it and thus the document itself becomes a derivative work and
then it must be distributed under GPL.
I for one don't have any problem with that. Only professional documentors
which right now get paid against a doc layout and content liscencing are in
trouble and the issue is parrallel to the issue of free software. Hence i
will like most of the fonts to be in GPL domain making most of the documents
in that domain too.
Think about it how many times i have made a document which i didn't send in
its original source form or as pdf and sent it in a bitmap or othe non
recoverable format? how many documents i don't want people to modify when i
give it to them?
But GNU is slipping this thing under the rough and waiting till the fonts
become mainline then they can charge on... this is bad GNU is now using the
same corporate strategies they so stressfully protest.
Neways i dream of the day when the society potrayed in Star Trek becomes a
reality**, then people will fight to keep their documents under GPL
Wishing you a free second quarter :-))Abhijit
* : Free as in free speech not as in free beer.
** : I know i am afreak, you don't have to remind me.
Today its been 5 days since the Bapu passed away. I am still not in shape to
write about him. But i am well enough to try and start to move on. So as a
first step i am updating this blog. Lot !!! i mean lot has happened within
last two-three months. The lack of updated entries in my blog is not without
reason and there has been lots happning in outside world too... the world
outside my life, the world of slashdot, formula one and lkml that is.(Nothing
to do with _real_ outside world.) This blog entry will be mostly about the
later one. The other events demand their own blog entries if not blogs
themselves. But more on that someday later.
First and foremost Ferrari is at the bottom. This is perhaps the most
significant moment in formula one history. Ferrari is known to make a
comeback. They are champs for 6 consecutive years. and the fans are waiting.
This time we will find out who are the real Ferrari guies and who is just a
bluff. I for one am sticking with Ferrari. They have the most beautifull car
and i can't take my eyes off it.Unfortunately the rule changes have taken
their toll and Ferrari deciding to just modify the car rather than bring in
new one early is at clear loss. The last two races however they did launch
the new car and Schume was back on podium starting from 13th place ... i
think THEY ARE BACK !!!! lets just wait and see. As i said before only time
and the checkered flag will tell.
The second significant thing to happen was the launch of Mac OS X 10.3
"TIGER". This has been very hyped up thing. Lot of good reviews and quite
frankly an admirable creation. Unfortunately the noise about Apple and OSS
relationship is a sour spot in this whole OS X saga. Darwin is nothing but a
PR stunt as far as i interprete it. KHTML people just declared to stop
talking about the wonderfull Apple-KDE cooperation happening in the browser
front, "it does not exist" they said. Overall apple looks stronger though. OS
X is something i really feel good about, and gets my praise, which is a rare
occasion. Although i am not likely to use mac any time sooner, i would ask
people to switch to it untill linux gets good enough.
On linux front the demise of bitkeeper is something significant. But more
ashtonishing is creation of GIT. A home grown source management tool.In the
end i wonder if linux will end up being a full operating system on its own,
all we have to do is stop producing good quality desktop and somehow make
linus want one :-)). Anyway, immediate action item is : LEARN GIT.
Long time no see SCO stories are now popping up again. Basically its a lost
battle and a war for SCO. I remember the times when my company director was
surprised and was talking about linux troubles. I never felt any. As
always :-)) i was right :-))>>.
Lot of other things happened in these months too but thats all that i care
about and i can recall right now.
To heighlight other stuff in my own personal life...well
1. i found the girl of my dreams :-)).
2. i quit my job and found something to do for myself :-||.
3. i lost my grandfather :-((.
Wishing a happy second quarter to everyone...... (boy!!, i have started using
corporate terms :-(( )
Abhijit
I write this as we break the news of my grandfather's demise to my
grandmother. Its been hard two and a half weeks in the ICU for him and
for everybody. Bapu as we called him, lead a very peaceful life. He
earned his reputation amongst the Ahamdabad University community,
raised a family of two daughters and a son (my father) and then
satisfactorily retired to settle in pune.
I am too depressed right now to express my true feelings, may be some
other day. Right now i just wanted to mark this moment as one of the
important ones in my blog.