Sunday, June 19, 2005

Copyrights, DRM, businesses and the future.

Just go and ask "Why DRM and copyrights are bad?" on /. or similiar crowed and
you will be burried under countless reasons.
Today i am just going to add one more to the pool.....
"Future"

The reasoning goes something like this. Today everyone copyrights a material, which basically means you can not reproduce it. There is an unmentioned diversion to the above restriction, which is for now quite obvious, that is you can reproduce it in you brains. You can veiw the movie you, can listen to
the music and you can see the paitning without much problem. You are also not restricted from recalling it ofcourse. Although brain is a form of an electronic storage, preventing reproduction inside brain will be just stupid. The business model works quite well right now mainly due to volatile nature of our memories.

The problem I spot however begins sometime 40-50 years from now. Biophisists
are already very successfull in interfacing brain paths to the electronic
circuits. Many blinds are being given expreimental vision by hooking a CCD
on to their visual neuropaths.Very soon there will be a stadardisation in
nero-tronic interface making it possible to manufacture tons of different
brain-aids. Its not too long before the braincap implant envisioned in
the SPACE ODESSY 3001 is brought to reality, atleast a striped down version
of it inside few MIT labs or something.

So when we finally get a few terabytes of memory sitting to aid our brains in
a seamless fashion, when we can recall what we have seen, heard or
expereienced in the exact same way again and again and again without needing any external device but only a few implants. How the hell are people going to enforce copyrights? all one will have to do is just watch a video once and be done with it. And furthermore if a communication is also aided by some addons to our brains the distribution of such material will be unstoppable. Its going to spread through the oldest p2p protocol existent on earth namely personal contact. What are they going to do? ban freindships and social networks? In short, soon (well that about 100-200 years but still) copyright is going to be a thing of past. So MPAA, RIAA watch out, your time is about to end. And no lawsuit is going to stop that.

--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net
http://abhijit.adotout.net/blog.php

Monday, June 13, 2005

--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net

Sunday, June 12, 2005

Hurra!!!

Well while i was trying to build the directfb stuff, i also kept working on
Xorg. Well finally i have it all....

DRI now works under Xorg, and i even have SATA driver up and running in the
kernel, after i installed hybrid of gentoo and debian and kernl.org
kernels :-)).

I will write a full report on linux on ACER travelmate 4151 once i get the
modem and wifi working again (the hybrid kernel is not (yet) configured for
those)

One disappointment though,.. although xine now can render fast it still can't
play dvds, ide driver is too slow and SATA driver doesn't (yet) support
ATAPI. Unfortunately this means i will have to wait till 2.6.13 or atleast
get the mm patchset once the libata-dev is finally put on for merging.

Actually 2.6.13-libata-dev is already posted on to lkml, i will try it
sometime but now now. I am still feeling very happy about almost all parts
working on my laptop..

--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net
http://abhijit.adotout.net/blog.php

Friday, June 10, 2005

I am depressed......

This is frustrating....
What i have here is this,

SATA is fully documented open protocol, linux kernel has the driver
and yet a custom compiled driver is failing to detect my drive, HOW
RUDE!!!!!!!

Neways more on that later, if i care enough, for now i am stuck with dmaless PIO mode in ide emulation.

Now on to real frustrating part....
Both XFree and XOrg have i915 drivers, kernel is latest and has dri driver....

None of them work... i have in my hands three codes which basically do
the same thing on the same chipset as in my unit and yet none of these
are working,
i am going crazy and franatic over this, so much for being a linux person.
Neways i give up , i am now going to do it the old way the real way.
Let once again men be men, who write their own device drivers.

I am going to take the daunting task of writing a Directfb i915
driver, time to go underground for next few weeks......

See you then if i survive
--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net

Ah!!! ACER travelmate 4151 NLCi

I just got myself a shiny new acer laptop.....
Now trying to get everything working under linux....
The major annoyance is that none of the dstributions right now suport
both SATA drive _and_ i915 graphics card on board....

Ubuntu fails with SATA cdrom and does not detect it in install, so
does mandrake
Knoppix installs well but fails to detect i915 and XF86Config-4 does
not help even with the kernel driver loaded .... :-(( so i am stuck
with Vesa mode

Will try gentoo now that being the last option, i really don't want
Redhat based Fedora, cause as everyone knows, Redhat is crap. Sigh !!!

Note: Wifi, ethernet, sound and acpi are working on knoppix

Managers and leaders

I just read a quote somewhere,
"Great managers do things right, Great leaders do the right things."

I see a very robust and unparalleled implementation of the above
statement. But before we do a case study lets analyse it. If you want
to do a thing you have to do it right in order to succeed. If you want
to succeed you not only have to do the things right but you also have
to do the right things. But doing right things does implicitly means
not doing the other variety. And unfortunately a Great manager in most
of the examples has very little choice about this. Ten years ago there
would have been no examples for the situation where Great managers
were also great leaders.

But as always now we have Linux..... (am i getting toooo damn
religious about it? i mean i find all the good things as linux
parallels!! but what the hell, its only because they are, you know? )
Take a look at linus or his bunch of lieutenants. These people will
strive to do the right things. And will boldly reject all others. This
way they also happen to do the things right automagically? so does
this mean doing the right things implicitly makes you do things right?
well!! no. but only because not caring about doing things right....
the bsd way for example , these people manage to do the right things
in right ways.

Whoosshhhh!!! i am too messed up in my mind so if you didn't
understand the above please ignore. I don't think i do either.
--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net

Come Again?

Thats what i said when i heard about apple's new anouncment.....
What a shocker.... Apple switching on to intel platform. This must be
on hell of a spin for all the 'Mac'ers. I don't think even pakistan
turning away from taliban measures up in front of this :-))). My
sypmathies lie for all the poor soles who now have to try and invent
new reasons for why CISC is better than RISC within two years and how
we were just fooling around for last 15 years.

Neway does this impact me right now???? well for starters i might be
downloading Mac OS Xii in couple of years instead of Ubuntu as i am
doing right now, or will i? it _will_ hackishly run on my hardware,
but will the ffort be worth it? is apple gui so unbeatable that i the
die hard linux franatic will still use it? i don't know but the point
is atleast two years from now i will have a chance to know, and thats
a GoodThing(tm).