Saturday, July 30, 2005

More OS rant......


I was just thinking.... (what the f***???)

How come after 15 (may be more) years of development and so called reasearch,
no os in the enitre world supports non rectangular windows?
Well to be honest all of them do.... i mean i have seen weird skins for xmms
and noatune...... but still, nobody inherantly uses the nonrectangular window
in the gui interface design.

I mean i am sure if people think about it carefully enough they can def. come
up with a really good uses for these. First of all its so obvious step
towards saving some desktop space. right now i can see the space between a
toolbar button and the right edge of the window being just wasted. the
address field also contains only one address right now ( its a email compose
window) and most of the right side is just wasted.

Intellegant use of arbitrarily shaped windows and gui design will solv the
problem i am most certain. Alas!! don't we have intellegace left in this
world anymore????

--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net/
http://abhijit.adotout.net/blog.php

Saturday, July 23, 2005

Os innovations or lack of those.....

This sucks!!!!
I mean it reallllllyyyy ****___SUCKS___*****
What am i talking about?
Those stupid pieces of shit underhood my desktop or "Operating
systems" as they are called.
I mean they were quite a sensation once. When i had a 386 and took
hundreds of milisec to display a three line directory content, i was
amazed to see them make things actually easier in life. The new GUI's
being invented were a greate leap towards usability. I thought at this
pace, i will have lot to see in my youth.
but after almost a decade and a half...... i am thoroughly
disappointed. The interfaces haven't changed for as long as i can
remember . Sure apple is best one to use right now, but it still isn't
good enough.
Here are the few things that really irritate me....
1. For gods sake dont make me bother about saving my work :-- We have
hundreds of mbs of ram, gbs of storage, and GHz of processing power
and yet.... i still have to save my files manually if i don't want to
lose my work. I mean commmonnnnn !!!! it was ok to have me save things
when saving actually meant few seconds of a frozen machine. but its
totally unacceptable today. If you can't split 2.6 GHz into a saving
job and still keep the interactive UI alive its a real shame!!!!!!!
Its very simple expectation..... When i spend hours working, more
often than not i am not doing temporary stuff. I want things i do to
be done!! Don't insult me by asking weather the report i spent 2-3
hours on is worth saving or not..
2. Get rid of those god damn menus:--
Hierarchical menus are the worst parts of the ui on my desktop. I have
to spend time actually navigating through them. I have to remember the
pathways and mazes inside all the applications i use.
And all for doing a simple task of adding a table or adding one more
row to my table. ****___SUCKS___****
I want things need to do to be there at once. Right now it feels like
a government building. I have to go through ten different counters to
get a simple job done.
3. Get rid of thy mouse :--
Apples one button mouse is far better than 3-4 buttons of pc. Why?
cause mouse while unavoidable still sucks a lot as an interactive
device. Its slow, its sluggish, it doesn't give any feedback, it simply
isn't good enough to input anything else but clicks and in the end its
too limited use of a powerful architecture of a human hand.
For gods sake find something else.... move to touchscreens, hard to
learn keyboards or anything else you can think of. i don't care, just
get rid of that annoying arrow on my screen.
4. System startup and shut down:--
slightly related to the first point, it was ok to have os's boot and
shutdown slowly because of limited power of the processors and disks.
But its totally insane right now. Why can't they just put in a battery
backed up system ram to speedup the boot? i neways spend a lot adding
on to Ghz in my box, i sure won't mind spending on out of the box
solution which boots the damn thing like my tv (which essentially
doesn't let me know if its booting at all.....).
5. Get rid of files et all. :--
Again it was ok when we had less space and processing power, but now i
want a letter i write, to look like a letter i wrote and not some 8.3
or 256 long string. I don't care if you use a database or a fs or a
text file as back end. Don't make me think about which program to use
to right my letter. And don't make me think about sending it to
somebody as an attachment, i don't want to attache a file to my mail
i am sending. If I want to send a letter to my sister then i "send a
letter to my sister" end of story. Don't make me fire up an editor,
then a mail program and then make me save it all and attach and then
connect to internet and send PHEW!!!.
There are lot many more small irritations but these are most annoying
to me......
I don't see them getting solved any time sooner... alas...... sigh!! :-((
--
BAIN
http://abhijit.adotout.net