Been busy two months,
Shifting to banglore consumed most of the time.
Anyway that also gave me a chance to recap on few things. This time of the year usually signifies an end for my personal calendar year. So it moslty goes into doing damage control for all the things i failed at, didn't do at all or badly missed on planning in the first place. This year is not an exception.
Quick highlights :
1. I still suck at interpreted languages. Just cant get the hang of those, even though basic has a soft corner, i just simply hate them.
Same goes for object based languages.
2. I desparately failed at estimating the market shift this year, the value of my time / talent has shot up trimendously. Basically this is the cash in time for everybody, so next time you ask me for an advice keep in mind that, the last time, i sucked giving it to myself . Wasting career time has become costlier than i thougth. Damage control is on its way.
3. There is one notable and quite unexpected success though. I basically knew only the oss software development cycle and thought of others as quite tedius and theorotical to learn. Didn't think i will master them in comming years. To my surprise thats not the way it happened. Although my initial observations were correct, i had no way to know an important fact about large scale software development processes beforehand. They _all_ fail. The real benifit comes absolutely unexpectedly from the places the designers never imagined. It needs a critical mass of developers to follow the processes to have that benifit. And strikingly its very similar to the sucess of the oss development methodology. It comes from natural selection process. Although everyone pretends to follow the process on superficial level, real benifits come from getting the developers together and make them compete for resources. The processes give a common forum and act as catalysts. More details on this later.
The result was that i learned about the sdp lot quickker than i thought.
Wednesday, November 03, 2004
Tuesday, July 13, 2004
Schumi yet again, trouble on the horizon this time tho.
This must be his greatest year, 10 out 11 races one, this is sheer perfection.
But day by day he has try to harder and harder it seems. Last time strategy change was a risc. And this time, surprise surprise!, Mclaren was breathing down his neck. Kimi did get the advantage of the safety car after the trulli's accident however. But this time he was _still_ there to take the chance when he was offered one. I think F1 will start becoming iteresting again. Just dying for the times when Schumi retires and Alonso takes over then we will see some real racing on the tracks not in the pits.
Sunday, July 04, 2004
abhijit.adotout.net is finally up
Good i got access to the space now.
Quite a lot to be done though, hope will fill up the contents soon as per plan.
The only thing i need now is time, which i am running really short of.
The list of projects on the page is just tip of the iceburg, and none of those are finished for primetime. Let alone other 100 or so at the planning stage. *sigh*
Quite a lot to be done though, hope will fill up the contents soon as per plan.
The only thing i need now is time, which i am running really short of.
The list of projects on the page is just tip of the iceburg, and none of those are finished for primetime. Let alone other 100 or so at the planning stage. *sigh*
Schumi does it again!!
This was unbelievable, Alonso in front of him i thought the race was over before it began. As long as renault finished the race, i thought , its a sure win for the italian i said. Little did i anticipate the great jack's mind coupled with schumi's powerfull stance that the ferrari will take four pit stops. And not only just that but win the race on this extraordinary strategy. Not that they haven't done this before. But each time they come back and surprise you.
And to add the finishing touch, Rubens overtook trulli at _last_ conrner in the last lap and grabbed the third place on podium. As i come to think of it, my three fav. stars were lined up on the podium.
Hmm... i am sure this won't be the last time, i am almost tired of ferrari winning all the time :-) but don't mind it.
Hope Mclaren reaquire their lost cahrm soon, then we will see real racing again.
And to add the finishing touch, Rubens overtook trulli at _last_ conrner in the last lap and grabbed the third place on podium. As i come to think of it, my three fav. stars were lined up on the podium.
Hmm... i am sure this won't be the last time, i am almost tired of ferrari winning all the time :-) but don't mind it.
Hope Mclaren reaquire their lost cahrm soon, then we will see real racing again.
Thursday, June 24, 2004
Hmm one more set back but it should be minor glitch
The same guy who installed the knoppix on my reco. got into trouble just on third day. he started xboing and the keyboard just hanged . even reboot now makes x crash and keyboard hang so he can't even login now
i told him to re install cause i wasn't near. lets see what happens next
i told him to re install cause i wasn't near. lets see what happens next
Monday, June 21, 2004
Knoppix RULES
To void my previous post i have a great news today. Just yesterday i installed Knoppix3.4 on a friends IBM thinkpad and it rocks. I didn't imagine it will be this simple. I just put the cd in it boots up (i have to turn off acpi tho) I resize the ntfs partition (breeze with qtparted) and install linux. Done we are up and running kde. Only pieces not working on board are acpi and modem. I am sure both can be run with little hardwork ( we are back to the days when men were men and wrote their own config scripts :-)) ).
Sound , display everything works out of the box and its just way too cool. It does have 256 mb ram but still the snappiness and configuration is excellent, i think debian is going to be the model of the future, develop a superset for stability / excellence in tech. give user friendlyness and polish/features through a stripped down derivative.
More updates when the modem and acpi works (or doesn't ).
Sound , display everything works out of the box and its just way too cool. It does have 256 mb ram but still the snappiness and configuration is excellent, i think debian is going to be the model of the future, develop a superset for stability / excellence in tech. give user friendlyness and polish/features through a stripped down derivative.
More updates when the modem and acpi works (or doesn't ).
Sunday, June 13, 2004
Sorry state of linux
This has been a week of dissappointment.
I was just remembering the "old days". When i was frustrated with recent windows 95 and it was year 1997 :-). And the excitement when i discovered linux later few months (or is it years ?). it was redhat 6.2. Took me hour to install but its was worth it. it ran faster. it was more stable. kde 1.2 looked just way too cool, while gnome was the true gui with enlightenment as its default manger. but most important of all it ran happily on my old machine with 32 MB ram. no more was i worried about _insert oom killer equivalent of the widows __
but alas gone are the days :(
I just tried out mandrake 10 on P4 with 128 MB ram. and spent almost an hour installing it. result...,a great dissapointment, ui was sluggish i mean slluuuuugggiiiiisshhhhh!!!!!. i spent most of the time opening up applications and watching the swap thrash. and its the same thing with redhat and fedora and suse. And speed isn't all thats bad. The ui is pathetic, kde has simply lost it ( let the holy flamewars begin). i mean keramik is ok for first few seconds. but in genreal i want to look at things that give me i
information !! not a big blot which cost me a loads of processor time. I don't even want to talk about gnome, but i will neway, its fm is too slow it takes ages to brows a big dir... and working things out of the box? ahhh! u know the dril, no point in continuing. may be we should now start looking at xfce or something which is ten time better even if its less features.
Ne way no point in continuing, i am surprised that linux made it thsi far at all, finally its seeing more bloat than real good sutff. May be all hope is not lost, knoppix and debian in general is still good at being slick fast and just plane works period. may be i will grab the sarge cds later this week and change my dissappointment to a great surprise.
One a side note : Kudos to linux/linus tho. i have to admit 2.6 is a kernel thats never been better and we still have final 2.6.7 to come. the kernel is one thing thats still fascinatingly good and by looks of it will keep that way for years to come.
Lastly dont take the above crap too seriously (like i _have_ to tell you that) there is a lot of shit in my head and sometimes it spills out too...
I was just remembering the "old days". When i was frustrated with recent windows 95 and it was year 1997 :-). And the excitement when i discovered linux later few months (or is it years ?). it was redhat 6.2. Took me hour to install but its was worth it. it ran faster. it was more stable. kde 1.2 looked just way too cool, while gnome was the true gui with enlightenment as its default manger. but most important of all it ran happily on my old machine with 32 MB ram. no more was i worried about
but alas gone are the days :(
I just tried out mandrake 10 on P4 with 128 MB ram. and spent almost an hour installing it. result...,a great dissapointment, ui was sluggish i mean slluuuuugggiiiiisshhhhh!!!!!. i spent most of the time opening up applications and watching the swap thrash. and its the same thing with redhat and fedora and suse. And speed isn't all thats bad. The ui is pathetic, kde has simply lost it ( let the holy flamewars begin). i mean keramik is ok for first few seconds. but in genreal i want to look at things that give me i
information !! not a big blot which cost me a loads of processor time. I don't even want to talk about gnome, but i will neway, its fm is too slow it takes ages to brows a big dir... and working things out of the box? ahhh! u know the dril, no point in continuing. may be we should now start looking at xfce or something which is ten time better even if its less features.
Ne way no point in continuing, i am surprised that linux made it thsi far at all, finally its seeing more bloat than real good sutff. May be all hope is not lost, knoppix and debian in general is still good at being slick fast and just plane works period. may be i will grab the sarge cds later this week and change my dissappointment to a great surprise.
One a side note : Kudos to linux/linus tho. i have to admit 2.6 is a kernel thats never been better and we still have final 2.6.7 to come. the kernel is one thing thats still fascinatingly good and by looks of it will keep that way for years to come.
Lastly dont take the above crap too seriously (like i _have_ to tell you that) there is a lot of shit in my head and sometimes it spills out too...
Friday, June 11, 2004
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)