I was just remembering the "old days". When i was frustrated with recent windows 95 and it was year 1997 :-). And the excitement when i discovered linux later few months (or is it years ?). it was redhat 6.2. Took me hour to install but its was worth it. it ran faster. it was more stable. kde 1.2 looked just way too cool, while gnome was the true gui with enlightenment as its default manger. but most important of all it ran happily on my old machine with 32 MB ram. no more was i worried about
but alas gone are the days :(
I just tried out mandrake 10 on P4 with 128 MB ram. and spent almost an hour installing it. result...,a great dissapointment, ui was sluggish i mean slluuuuugggiiiiisshhhhh!!!!!. i spent most of the time opening up applications and watching the swap thrash. and its the same thing with redhat and fedora and suse. And speed isn't all thats bad. The ui is pathetic, kde has simply lost it ( let the holy flamewars begin). i mean keramik is ok for first few seconds. but in genreal i want to look at things that give me i
information !! not a big blot which cost me a loads of processor time. I don't even want to talk about gnome, but i will neway, its fm is too slow it takes ages to brows a big dir... and working things out of the box? ahhh! u know the dril, no point in continuing. may be we should now start looking at xfce or something which is ten time better even if its less features.
Ne way no point in continuing, i am surprised that linux made it thsi far at all, finally its seeing more bloat than real good sutff. May be all hope is not lost, knoppix and debian in general is still good at being slick fast and just plane works period. may be i will grab the sarge cds later this week and change my dissappointment to a great surprise.
One a side note : Kudos to linux/linus tho. i have to admit 2.6 is a kernel thats never been better and we still have final 2.6.7 to come. the kernel is one thing thats still fascinatingly good and by looks of it will keep that way for years to come.
Lastly dont take the above crap too seriously (like i _have_ to tell you that) there is a lot of shit in my head and sometimes it spills out too...
No comments:
Post a Comment